The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > LT, Crafter & Sprinter Section > LT, Crafter & Sprinter Tech
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1G engine service intervals

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AndrewG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1G engine service intervals
    Posted: 19 Jan 24 at 12:21
Hi folks.  Not posted for many years on here, but still have my Florida (1990 - I've had since 2007).

Can anyone help me out with service intervals for valve clearances and the timing belts for cam and fuel pump?

I've got the engine manual from VW and the Volvo one also but none of them seem to have service intervals.

I'm not an experienced mechanic but over the years have been doing more and more on my motorcycles so building up some confidence, and now as there 's a couple of things on the van that need attention i'm trying to take these on.  Have smoke coming out of the exhaust manifold and also some oil leaks around the cylinder head cover so starting with these, but wanting to check clearances while I go in there.

Thanks all.
Andrew
mojo View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mojo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jan 24 at 22:12
Hi

Service intervals for belts are:

Check - 20,000 miles or 2 years
Replace - 75,000 miles or 4 years
Valves - have hydraulic lifters so no adjustment is possible or necessary

Belt change requires a few special tools:
injection pump sprocket locking pin - VAG TOOL No.2064
Tension gauge - VAG TOOL No.210
Camshaft setting bar - VAG TOOL No.2065A
Sprocket holding tool - VAG TOOL No.3036

I'm not familiar with the 1G but the smoke from the manifold will either be a crack in the manifold or a failed  manifold gasket. Do they have an EGR?