The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T4 Section. > T4 FAQ
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Vag Com stuff.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Vag Com stuff.

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Baxter View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Scruff Daddy

Joined: 29 May 04
Location: Huddersfield
Status: Offline
Points: 8018
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baxter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Vag Com stuff.
    Posted: 16 Jul 08 at 21:52
Just some quick guides as to how to check various perameters through VagCom (or similar)
 
MAF - 2.5 TDI
 
01 - Engine
08 - Read measuring block
Group 10
 
 
2nd gear @1500 rpm, floor the throttle (must be flat to the floor- Zone 4 reading 100%)
at 3000 rpm display in field 1 to be about 700g
 
If it's less, MAF is dead.
 
 
Brake light switch
 
01 - engine
08 - read measuring block
Group 6
 
Readings in zone 2 should be 000 without the brake pedal depressed.
Upon pressing the pedal the readings should go to 011
upon releasing the pedal the readings should again be 000
 
There are 2 switches inside the brake light switch, it contains 2 switches, one for the brake lights and one for the ECU.
Because the vehicle is fly by wire, if something were to fail you need to be able to shut the engine off, so when the throttle is depressed and the brake is also the ECU returns the engine to idle as a safety function.
 
 
Recoding language of Highline instrument panel.
 
Imported a van? dashboard all in German?
 
17 - dash panel insert
10 - adaption
Channel 4
 
enter code 00002, this is the code for English.
 
06, end output.
 
Dash should now read in English.
 
 
 
 
 
Please feel free to add your own VagCom stuff to this thread.
 
Back to Top
Baxter View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Scruff Daddy

Joined: 29 May 04
Location: Huddersfield
Status: Offline
Points: 8018
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baxter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 09 at 21:31
Enabling cruise control
 
01 - Engine
 
If "G000SG" is displayed then cruise is already turned on.
If "0000SG" is displyed then cruise is inactive.
 
To activeate go to..
 
11 - Log In proceedure.
 
Enter "11463" in the box
 
press Go, enter, do it, Q,  whatever your particular machine says.
 
Done, if you are using VW machine then log out by pressing 06 - End output.
Back to Top
Clunge View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Ignore me...it makes sense!

Joined: 27 Jul 09
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Clunge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 09 at 21:48
Cool
Back to Top
jets View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 31 Dec 06
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jets Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 09 at 14:57
Thanks Simon.
Back to Top
GlynH View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie


Joined: 28 Nov 09
Location: Oxfordshire
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GlynH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 09 at 14:46
I have VAGCOM that I use on my 2001 S8 and it paid for itself with its first job - diagnosing a misaligned rear level sensor that was causing the Xenon range warning light to come up on the dash.
 
The Audi Stealer wanted £400 for a new control module...a quick scan with VCDS showed the voltage from the rear sensor was low...a quick look showed the arm had swung inwards towards the centre of the car when in fact it should be angled outwards.
 
Disconnected the linkage, turned the arm outwards, reconnected the linkage and voltage back within spec allowing me to clear the recurring error code. Simples!
 
However the reason for my Audi car post on a VW Van forum is as follows...I have a 1998 1.9 TD (mechanical turbo, no ECU, no airbag etc.) but it does have the OBD port fitted in the dash.
 
So what exactly can be monitored through this with VAGCOM?
 
Thanks & regards,
-=Glyn=-
Back to Top
alibaba View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 09
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alibaba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 10 at 14:27
Whilst on the subject of VAGCOM stuff has anyone successfully connected up their 2.5 petrol (syncro or not) T4 to it ?
I'm not getting anything using an MT300 Sun tester, or a generic OBDII tester.
I'm starting to wonder if this uses a funny ECU (Hella / Siemens ?) like my old 2.6 audi that wouldn't work with the majority of diagnostic gear.

Edited by alibaba - 03 Jan 10 at 14:28
Back to Top
carbon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 09
Location: South West
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote carbon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 10 at 21:34
Hi Glyn
 
That socket is also in some of the 96 t'4s 2.4D. I think it really only checks the stop solenoid and the imobilizer (chipped key) as the only fault that was stored on mine was something like intermitent fault on the stop solenoid
Chris
Back to Top
gavster01 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Jun 10
Location: south wales
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gavster01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 10 at 16:50
Is this Simon, Clunge from South Wales? Founder member of South Wales Pugs? Or French car owners club as is now called?? 

Edited by gavster01 - 23 Oct 10 at 16:53
Back to Top
LindeMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Oct 14
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LindeMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Oct 14 at 19:49
Originally posted by Baxter Baxter wrote:

Just some quick guides as to how to check various perameters through VagCom (or similar)

Recoding language of Highline instrument panel.

 

Imported a van? dashboard all in German?

 

17 - dash panel insert

10 - adaption

Channel 4

 

enter code 00002, this is the code for English.

 

06, end output.

 

Dash should now read in English.

 

 

 

 

 

Please feel free to add your own VagCom stuff to this thread.

 


Trying to change this, is it possible to change to Sweden?
i dont know where to type code 00002?
Back to Top
LindeMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Oct 14
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LindeMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Oct 14 at 19:51
Originally posted by Baxter Baxter wrote:

Enabling cruise control
 

01 - Engine

 

If "G000SG" is displayed then cruise is already turned on.

If "0000SG" is displyed then cruise is inactive.

 

To activeate go to..

 

11 - Log In proceedure.

 

Enter "11463" in the box

 

press Go, enter, do it, Q,  whatever your particular machine says.

 

Done, if you are using VW machine then log out by pressing 06 - End output.


Where should G000SG or 0000SG be displayed? dont se anything, trying to activate my cc byt it dosent work.
Back to Top
LindeMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Oct 14
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LindeMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jan 15 at 00:11
Hello, need to remove this one, Dont have it, and it keep on warning all the time, i have changed the cluster so i now have fis.

Please can anyone tell me where to remove this in vag com?




Edited by LindeMan - 31 Jan 15 at 00:14
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.10
Copyright ©2001-2017 Web Wiz Ltd.

The WebThis site