The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > LT, Crafter & Sprinter Section > LT, Crafter & Sprinter Tech
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Stereo

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mgee132 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Stereo
    Posted: 29 Aug 16 at 21:34
Hi all ,again On my Florida the stereo is wired into the starter battery which seems a pain as when we are camping we would like some music in the background but worry it will flatten the battery,so what I would like to know is can I wire it directly to the leisure batteries or is this a pain in the arse I'm not very experienced in wiring car stereos but willing to give it a shot
AndyT View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AndyT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 16 at 10:54
Should be fairly easy to do, so long as you can identify the wiring on the back of the stereo.
If there have been several stereos fitted over the years, it could be a birds nest behind the dash.
Also you may need special tools to remove the stereo, not usually expensive but you need to get them.

If you can slide the stereo out take some pictures and post them, and we can go from there.
There may well be a diagram on the stereo, definitely need a pic.

You will probably need some basic equipment too:-

Crimping tool + terminals
Scotch lock
In-line fuse (probably 1amp)
Wire long enough to run from the leisure battery up to the stereo. (5amp should be fine)
Basic multi-meter
Insulating tape
Pliers
LT28 1979 2.0 Pampas Nevada Camper LPG 93K, 1980 T3 A/C Camper 98K,1994 RRC 3.9 LPG 120k , 1998 Audi A6 Est 2.5 V6 diesel 127k

ob1 View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie

FOUND IT, IT WAS HIDING!