Forum Description: Forum for T5 specific chat
URL: http://www.brick-yard.co.uk/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=60735
Printed Date: 29 Mar 24 at 13:21
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.06 - https://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: How to: AXD Manifold and Turbo Removal
Posted By: Liquidfreak
Subject: How to: AXD Manifold and Turbo Removal
Date Posted: 23 Dec 10 at 17:24
Here is the manifold removal guide. I am not a mechanic, nor do I pose to be, however I was good with Lego as a kid. 

WARNING!! THIS IS A PIG OF A JOB! YOU HAVE BEEN TOLD!

You have probably come here after looking at the 'Turbo Squeal fix' or the 'Turbo and Manifold Issues' thread so you already know what problems you have.

Estimated Work Time: 2 Days, although, if you are on it, and you have a helper, you could probably get it done in a day.

Tool list: Required
* Ramps/Jacks x2 + Axle Stands
* 5mm Allan key bit with at least 3 extenders or 5mm Allan key
* 8mm Spanner
* 10mm Spanner
* 13mm Spanner
* 13mm Socket
* 15mm Socket
* 16mm Socket
* M10 Spline/Triple Square Socket
* M12 Spline/Triple Square Socket
* Ratchet
* Socket Wrench
* 2x Universal Joint Sockets (This is important!)
* 2x Standard length extender bar - about 4-5" long
* 1x Long extender bar
* Penetrating oil (Plus Gas)
* Large Flat-blade Screwdriver
* Wire Brush
* Swear Jar

Note: the spanners I am using have ratchets built in and are also multi-angled.

Tool list: Good Idea.
* Light
* Small Ladder
* Safety Goggles
* Hacksaw
* Angle Grinder
* Twatting Hammer
* Lots of clean rags
* A few elastic bands
* A syringe - 50ml or so
* Extending magnet, or even better - extending grabber

Parts List: Required
* 1x Manifold Gasket: 070 253 039 C 
(Number 2 in Manifold Parts Image)

* 1x Turbo Gasket: 070 145 757 
(Number 23 in Turbo Parts Image)

Part List: Good Idea
* 10x Manifold Nuts: N 902 002 01
(Number 4 in Manifold Parts Image)

* Locktite: 
(Number 5 in Manifold Parts Image)

* lots of clean rags

Parts List: If things have gone wrong