Late model T5 problems still exist?

Printed From: The Brick-yard
Category: T5 Section
Forum Name: T5 Chat
Forum Description: Forum for T5 specific chat
URL: http://www.brick-yard.co.uk/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=44222
Printed Date: 14 Oct 19 at 03:24
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Late model T5 problems still exist?
Posted By: solarboy
Subject: Late model T5 problems still exist?
Date Posted: 23 Sep 09 at 20:59
I'm currently a T4 driver but the ole gal has now done 250K kms and I'm looking into buying a brand spanking T5 here in Portugal. I am just wondering if any of the major reliability issues have already been dealt with ? ( DMF, water pump and whatever else). I'm also looking at the Trafic but I've owned french filth vans before and always heated the build quality. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Replies:
Posted By: blackvanman
Date Posted: 23 Sep 09 at 21:05
hang on for the facelift which i believe is available here early nxt year. 

-------------
'09' 174 kombi, swb, pearl black

Posted By: Ex-car bloke
Date Posted: 23 Sep 09 at 21:36
Originally posted by solarboy solarboy wrote:

I am just wondering if any of the major reliability issues have already been dealt with ? 

Let's put it this way.  What "major reliability problems" would these be?

Take the real world for example.  Every high mileage T5 taxi driver I've ever talked to has had trouble free motoring.  They've sold, how many?  Over a million?  More?  I wonder what tiny proportion of these have really had "major reliability problems"?  Not many, I would guess, as the grapevine and the resulting damage to the brand would surely be devastating.