The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T3 Section > T3 Diesel upgrades
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - golf 1z TDi immobiliser wiring
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

golf 1z TDi immobiliser wiring

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message
Full Throttle View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 05
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 1829
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Full Throttle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: golf 1z TDi immobiliser wiring
    Posted: 27 Apr 09 at 11:56
This works for vw golf 1.9 1z engined model yrs 1994/1995 with 68 pin ecu's
 
This enables you to remove the instrument cluster and still keep the immobiliser and electronic pump.
 
You will need the black box immobiliser, original key, ignition key transponder reader and the ecu from the same car.
 
How to wire the Black box immobiliser.

2  connectors

one is three pin the other is 6 pin. The 3 pin goes to the transponder reader.

The 6 pin connector is numbered if you look at the end of it. 1 to 6

So starting with pin 1

1= Black , connect this to a switched 12v i.e ignition

2 = Grey/ White, goes to the ecu

3 = Grey,  goes to  Diagnostic plug, but changes to a grey and white at the diagnostic plug end.

4 = Brown, Earth

5 = Not connected

6 = Brown, earth
 
Pin 1 was connected to the golf instrument cluster and got it's 12v feed from there.
If you removed the cluster( no 12v to pin 1) it would start for 3 seconds then stop.
 
If you use this information and it works for you please add what year and model of car you used.
 
This conversion is time consuming especially on the wiring side, so i would recommend you pay someone else to do it. when you work out how many hours it takes to do it, you soon realise it's worth the money.But if you are prepared for do it your self this info will help you get past the last stage. i.e getting it started for the first time.Big smile
 
This may work for vento's jettas etc, with a 1.9 1z tdi engine with 68 pin ecu's.
 
If you know how to get other vw tdi engines working electronically without instrument clusters etc that would be good info to add to this thread.
 
We all need help when doing conversions so it's only fair to put something back into the knowledge pool.
 
Anyway good luck and lets us know if it works for you.
 
Back to Top
jamie masters View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 09
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamie masters Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Apr 09 at 20:41
All  the infomation i get and what i need i would most certanly share with anybody else doing the same converision. thanks j.
Back to Top
ROB1N View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 06
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 359
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ROB1N Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Apr 09 at 07:00
Cheers it worked the engine I used is from a golf tdi its a 1z and a 1994 model.
Vw's are for life .
Back to Top
mazz View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 07
Location: shropshire
Status: Offline
Points: 578
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mazz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 09 at 00:58
Hi i know this works as i have done it sevral times before, i dont understand why people think the wiring is so complicated,its very simple,the hardest part is making the new engine mount
MV Engineering-TDi conversion specialist
07989593569-01952 581818
mveservices@hotmail.co.uk
Back to Top
ROB1N View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 06
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 359
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ROB1N Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 09 at 08:28
Then wiring is very simple if you have the wiring diagrams in this case i didnt 
Vw's are for life .
Back to Top
jamie masters View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 09
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamie masters Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 22:09
hi! thanks for info just need to no were diagnostic plug is located. it starts then stops. havent conected the grey up yet. many thanks. j
Back to Top
Baxter View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Scruff Daddy

Joined: 29 May 04
Location: Huddersfield
Status: Offline
Points: 8016
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baxter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 23:10
I just pulled one out of a Golf, no immobiliser, bonus!
Back to Top
jamie masters View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 09
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamie masters Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 09 at 00:42
any help with the grey wire please baxter??? its almost there. then i can start on sorting out the body abit. its all diy here. cheers j
Back to Top
Full Throttle View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 05
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 1829
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Full Throttle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 09 at 07:54
Do you have a wiring diagram. ?
If not there is one here:
 
The grey wire (pin 2) on the connector goes to the ecu.
 
Back to Top
Full Throttle View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 05
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 1829
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Full Throttle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 09 at 07:56
I heard there were some early tdi's without immobilisiers.
What year was it. ?
Back to Top
T3di View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak
Avatar

Joined: 23 Aug 05
Location: Sheffield
Status: Offline
Points: 3099
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote T3di Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 09 at 15:34
mines one.
93 is the year stamp on most stuff on it
            
Back to Top
Baxter View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Scruff Daddy

Joined: 29 May 04
Location: Huddersfield
Status: Offline
Points: 8016
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baxter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 09 at 12:02
Yeah, M plate Golf the one I have.
Just makes me wonder if you can use the ECU's from these early ones on later systems, would have to check pin data.
Back to Top
jamie masters View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 09
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamie masters Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jul 09 at 18:20
many thanks will try it and see what happens. cheers j
Back to Top
Full Throttle View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 05
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 1829
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Full Throttle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jul 09 at 22:16

The golf i got mine from was an M reg from memory, must have been the change over year as mine had the immo.

Back to Top
Baxter View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Scruff Daddy

Joined: 29 May 04
Location: Huddersfield
Status: Offline
Points: 8016
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baxter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jul 09 at 23:00
Can you get to the ECU for the part number, could be an interesting thread, find out which ones do and don't.
Back to Top
jamie masters View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 09
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamie masters Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 09 at 21:40
yippee its running! thanks to everyone who has helped so far. engine is 1.9 tdi from a golf estate 1995. 100k on clock. so chuffed. cheers jTongue
Back to Top
iow View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Aug 09
Location: iow
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 09 at 23:50
What is the min amaount of wires you need to run a TDI engine ? as want to put one in a boat
There must be a better way
Back to Top
T3di View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak
Avatar

Joined: 23 Aug 05
Location: Sheffield
Status: Offline
Points: 3099
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote T3di Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Aug 09 at 08:08
ecu is 68 pin but many commons are used .Every sensor on the engine seems to have its own yellow&black,an some join up in the loom.

Edited by T3di - 07 Aug 09 at 08:25
            
Back to Top
iow View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Aug 09
Location: iow
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Aug 09 at 12:54
Have to say in my case it is the immobiliser that I could do with getting rid of don't need it on a boat lol
Also the fly by wire throttle is some thing I could do with out if there was a way round it wires and salt water don't seem to mix well.
Still I pick the car up this afternoon so will see what has to be done hope I can mate it up to the leg.
 
I have to say 10 out of 10 to this site I have spent day's looking at the web for info on Ford engines with out much luckWacko I came to this site found all I wanted to know in 10 min's and you all seem to be very helpful keep it up it is good to see some one doing it rightThumbs Up
Gord
There must be a better way
Back to Top
iow View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Aug 09
Location: iow
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 09 at 14:28
Hi well got the car engine out it is a M reg no immobiliser thank god . What a baby Turbo what does it boost to ?
 
But have a few problems to get over you might be able to help me with.
1st is the starter comes in from the gearbox do VW do a starter and flywheel for this engine that come's in from the engine ?
2nd slight oil leak from rear crank oil seal ? Does this mean the main's are on there way or is this common?
3rd does any one make adapter plates to fit Ford gear box or OMC leg ?
Sorry if this is off topic but you guy's seem to know all the in's and out's
There must be a better way
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.10
Copyright ©2001-2017 Web Wiz Ltd.

The WebThis site