The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T5 Section > T5 Chat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

No low end power and smoke

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maddogs45 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: No low end power and smoke
    Posted: 26 Sep 18 at 22:22
Hi, I'm new to the world of T5 and I seem to be suffering with all the faults straight from the off.
I bought a 2007 2.5 130 T5 which was fine on the test drive. 5 mikes after buying it the glow plug light came on. Turns out I needed new glow plugs. Software also showed my EGR valve was gone. As it seemed was the diaphragm in the EGR cooler. When I removed my bumber I also found I had an oval intercooler. All this has been replaced now.
Since changing everything the van has no power until the turbo kicks in. It also smells like a bus and smokes a lot when you boot it.
I have checked all the hoses and ordered a new MAF sensor. The old one was date stamped 2007.
Do you think this will solve the problem?
I just had it serviced and MOT 'd, so all new oil and filters. It even passed the emission test in its current state.
I would be so grateful for any advice as this has been a very bad start for me into the VW world
gregozedobe View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gregozedobe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 18 at 04:39
Sorry to hear of your troubles so early in your ownership.

Maybe double check for air leaks in intake system ?  (pressurised side ie after turbo)

Mine is gutless until the turbo kicks in around 1,800rpm.  It starts to make a bit of power around 1,600, but before that not much action at all.

Black smoke or blue ?
Maddogs45 View Drop Down
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie