The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T5 Section > T5 Chat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Coolant Temp Sensor more than one?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Muddlingthrough Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Coolant Temp Sensor more than one?
    Posted: 03 Feb 18 at 13:03
Hi all, I'm hoping as a complete newbie someone can help! We've got a 53 plate T5 1.9 T28 with a temperature coolant warning light on! We've changed what we thought was the only sensor on the bottom of rad, but light is still on. After a bit of research we are now thinking there's another sensor well hidden & fiddly to get too RH side of head? Also we bought the one sensor from gsf (brass ended 2 pin I think) but now found there's a four pin listed on gsf but not on other part suppliers? Just trying to go through a process of elimination with the warning light! It's not over heating and no coolant loss. The temp needle goes up to around 90 then drops. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance
T5 TDI View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote T5 TDI Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 18 at 15:53
It is on the RH side (the opposite end to the cam belt).  It faces backwards towards the bulkhead.  It's known as the G62 coolant temperature sensor if you are using GSF/VW.  The one in the rad will probably be for switching the coolant fan.  I think it's a two pin but don't quote me on that!

It is completely different on the 2.5's for anyone else looking..   
2004 2.5 174
Muddlingthrough View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Muddlingthrough Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 18 at 15:57
Thank you! We thought this was the case really appreciate the reply

Edited by Muddlingthrough - 03 Feb 18 at 15:59