The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T3 Section > T3 Engine Upgrades
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1.9DG - AAZ Conversion

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oliverriddett Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1.9DG - AAZ Conversion
    Posted: 26 Jan 17 at 14:49
After deciding the DG was a bigger pain in the arse than income tax, I've decided to swap the beast out for a reliable diesel. 
The 1.9 AAZ has been my decision and i wil soon posses one. 

Basically, I'm searching for some help on any 'what to look out for' when re-installing, where to source the diesel parts for conversion and some advice on gearbox options (I currently do not have one). 

I'm a total novice and know know about the DG. 

please be kind and lenient :)

Cheers guys.
mrhutch View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
the ginger princess

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrhutch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 17 at 15:01
is there a particular reason you've decided to go with the AAZ?

It's much easier and cheaper (and economical) to run with a 1.9D N/A - AEF or 1Y lump

Most AAZ's are tired now, and running in a T3 means you really have to fit a front mounted oil cooler, and either bugger about with turbos and engine mounts or source JX exhaust & turbo
T3 1981 Westy Vanagon - thinks lubricant is a fuel
oliverriddett View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oliverriddett Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 17 at 16:06
Hey, thanks for your reply. 
I went AAZ because it was there, i know they're older, but it is good enough mileage at 120k which i may well do a top-end rebuild before it goes in. I am aware that i need to fuss about with sourcing all JX parts for the diesel swap, which i would anyway, which ever diesel I decide.