The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > LT, Crafter & Sprinter Section > LT, Crafter & Sprinter Tech
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

making a roofrack fit a high-top?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MostlyMonki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: making a roofrack fit a high-top?
    Posted: 26 Feb 09 at 11:45
might be getting a roofrack off a tin-top LT for a good price, but want to make the legs longer to i can fit it to my high-top van.

I'm a total welding novice (bought a 105a mig welder on a whim a couple of years ago but havent really used it properly yet), so the question is... how difficult would this be to do as my 1st welding project? the roofrack is a full length jobby with 12 supporting legs.

Edited by MostlyMonki - 26 Feb 09 at 11:48
"LT Massive"
thal View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Feb 09 at 15:39
Its a great way to start.if its made of box section find another length of wider box to slip over the joint, butt weld your extension on grind back the weld till its flat slide the wider box over the jion and weld both ends this will give the srongest possible joint even if your weldings not brill. If its tube you can do the same thing and cleand up it will look ok. It also gives you good practice on something that isnt to thin which is much more difficult when you start
Terry

Edited by thal - 26 Feb 09 at 15:40
2.4 td high top home conversion And2.4td LWB high top van
MostlyMonki View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MostlyMonki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Feb 09 at 15:50