The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T3 Section > T3 Westfalia forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Fridge Wiring Issues

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stefvan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fridge Wiring Issues
    Posted: 04 Aug 15 at 16:45
Hi
I'm trying to reinstall a Westy 3 way fridge (RM184) after the previous owner has wired in a 2 way compressor fridge.
I am not an electrician and my electrical skills are, that I can measure voltage with my multimeter and continuity, and not much else.
Problem is, when I plug the fridge in, the battery light comes on on the dash and the starter battery stops charging. The wiring socket is missing on the fridge end, so I am assuming its red (leisure end) to black (marked plus) brown to brown, and blue to blue.

When the engine is running, 12V is sent down the blue wire to the fridge from the split charging relay.
To complicate matters the split charge relay isn't the original one and was put in when the compressor fridge was installed. Its a Bosch 0332002156 Relay (Which is also a diesel glow plug relay).

I f anyone could help me troubleshoot this setup I'd be very grateful.

Pete Westy View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pete Westy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Aug 15 at 18:28
Here's a link to the RM184 Fridge circuit diagram
http://www.westfaliat3.info/Electrolux_RM184EGI_Schaltplan.jpg
According to this,
  •  the Blue is earth,
  • The Brown energises the fridge internal relay when the engine is running and the fridge is set to 12volt
  •  the Black is positive and feeds the heater element via the relay when on 12volt and the spark device when on gas. This should be the permanent supply via the fuse on the pillar fed from the leisure battery.