The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T3 Section > T3 Tech help
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

JX Engine Help

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Not Quite Newbie
Not Quite Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Howzxf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: JX Engine Help
    Posted: 13 Oct 14 at 12:51
Hi

I'm new to Brickwerks and indeed the world of T3's, VW's and indeed campers.

I picked myself up a T3 converted Panel van with a view to restore it as a bit of a project as just wanted something to tinker with in my spare time. I knew it was a non starter when I got it with owner reporting a broken crankshaft, not a major problem as was anticipating an engine change. 
However I have diagnosed it with loose crankshaft pulley which I can repair with some pins and the revised bolt so shouldn't happen again. Ideally I would love to keep it original and repair what I have got.

This brings to the 2 things I'm not too sure about, one is whether it is worth trying to repair...

1. I set the camshaft to TDC and noticed that one valve on cylinder 1 does not return to fully closed and there is a massive gap between the cam. I read somewhere that the pistons do not meet the valves in fully open position (not sure if this is true) so hoping that it has not been struck and requires new valve. Any advice would be great
  2. After setting TDC I went to lock the pump in place but it was no where near in line. If I do manage to repair should I line back up as it was before when it was running or reset and and check using DTI?
There are a few other bits that need repairing and finding where other bits go/do but this is probably the best place to start Smile

Thank you in advance

Chris
Pete Westy View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pete Westy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 14 at 17:32