The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T5 Section > T5 Chat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to: AXD Gates Coupling/Alternator Removal

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Liquidfreak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to: AXD Gates Coupling/Alternator Removal
    Posted: 26 Jul 13 at 23:51

So, back again with another how to, hopefully this one will take less than a year to complete unlike the last one. Warning to you again, I am not a mechanic. I will be using some of the photos that T5 VWO put up back in 2009, as well as my own.

Tool list: Required
!!Special Tool Required for this job!! Alternator Pulley - See Photo Below
* Ramps
* Jack
* 6mm Allan key bit
* 10mm Spanner
* 13mm Spanner
* 17mm Spanner
* 13mm Socket
* 16mm Socket
* 17mm Socket
* 18mm Socket
* Ratchet
* Socket Extension
* Large Flat-blade Screwdriver
* Small Flat-blade Screwdriver
* Vice
* Long breaker bar/long pipe that fits over your ratchet and 17mm spanner

Note: the spanners I am using have ratchets built in and are also multi-angled.

Tool list: Good Idea.
* Light

Parts List: Required
* 1x Coupling: 070 903 327 D 

* 1x Freewheel: 070 903 201 E 

Special tool required. Not sure where is best to get them, I was lucky in that my neighbour had one. Don't count on your neighbour having one! Smile

Parts that are required. Again, as T5 VWO experienced, I only needed the bottom two items listed (as per part list)

So... get your van up on ramps.
Begin by taking the under tray off (13mm bolts), then take bumper off following the directions here http://www.brick-yard.co.uk/forum/how-to-fit-caravelle-lights_topic18795.html

Now you should be left with something like this: