The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > The Brickyard > The Bus Park
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The other LT thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Vanorak
Vanorak

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mat_the_cat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The other LT thread
    Posted: 23 Oct 10 at 22:52
This is my first time outside the 'safety' of the LT section, so please be gentle with me guys!Embarrassed

I thought people might b interested in the progress of my LT over the last few years, from beaten up panel van to (still beaten up) camper. The photos were taken a while back, but it's still not finished (probably will always be something to do on it!) My latest project is the fitting of some rather tasty Audi A8 seats, that shoud be a nice quick job, give me 6 months or so.
It was bought on eBay and not exactly as advertised..."surface rust only" was the wording used...here are a few shots of the floorpan after I had cut back to solid metal. I was dubious of the fresh MOT it had before sale as well!

The outside was a similar story, ths is the only photo I can find showing it.

As this wasn't structural I could have used filler, but that wouldn't have lasted. Patching the panels wasn't an option as the remaining metal(?) had the structural integrity of foil. So I managed to obtain some genuine VW panels and set to cutting away the rusty remains.

The first of many pieces of new metal going in.

I'll post up some more pictures soon when I have more time.

Edited by mat_the_cat - 24 Jun 13 at 14:55
Mid engined, 6 cylinder, turbocharged 2 seater - it can only be a VW LT!
mcbkat View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mcbkat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 10 at 00:09
LTs are taking over!
Keep up the good work!

Stefan
De Vries LT45 4X4, De Vries LT40 4x4
mat_the_cat View Drop Down