The Brick-yard Homepage Brickwerks
Forum Home Forum Home > T5 Section > T5 Chat
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Fault code - 16706 Engine Speed Sensor
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Fault code - 16706 Engine Speed Sensor

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
CrazyCano View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Jul 08
Location: Queensland
Status: Offline
Points: 118
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CrazyCano Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fault code - 16706 Engine Speed Sensor
    Posted: 06 Aug 09 at 17:15
Fault code - 16706 Engine Speed Sensor G28 no signal

I had my fault codes looked at to see if there was any that would explain my intermittent starting problems. This was the only fault that came up. It didnt say how many times it had happened, but did say it had occured aT30 rpm. Is this the likely cause of my starting problems? And where do i look to find this sensor?

Thanks
Alex
VW T5 2004 1.9TDI SURFBUS
Back to Top
T5 TDI View Drop Down
Vanorak
Vanorak
Avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 05
Status: Offline
Points: 3608
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote T5 TDI Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 09 at 20:55
It's the crankshaft sensor.  It's job is counting the flywheel teeth as they pass by, boring job eh?LOL   Seriously though, you will find it somewhere around the line where the engine is bolted to the gearbox.  As a general rule buy a genuine VW one unless it's a silly price. 
 
Don't forget that code could apply to wiring faults all the way to the ECU.  But in the real world you might as well change the sensor anyway for the £50 or whatever it costs to eliminate it. 


Edited by T5 TDI - 06 Aug 09 at 21:02
2004 2.5 174
Back to Top
smidsy View Drop Down
Yardie
Yardie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Mar 08
Status: Offline
Points: 392
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote smidsy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 09 at 22:41
BTW
they're a pig to get out. probably rusted in on yours and fuggin difficult to get tools into the space to undo it.
have a lot of patience when you tackle that job.
Back to Top
janamarie View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Jan 11
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote janamarie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 11 at 06:08
Originally posted by CrazyCano CrazyCano wrote:

Fault code - 16706 Engine Speed Sensor G28 no signal

I had my fault codes looked at to see if there was any that would explain my intermittent starting problems. This was the only fault that came up. It didnt say how many times it had happened, but did say it had occured aT30 rpm. Is this the likely cause of my starting problems? And where do i look to find this sensor?

Thanks
Alex


Hi alex, any update regarding the fault code 16706? I am experiencing the same error code. What have you done to resolve this one?


Edited by janamarie - 29 Jan 11 at 03:46
Back to Top
CrazyCano View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Jul 08
Location: Queensland
Status: Offline
Points: 118
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CrazyCano Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 11 at 06:30
Hi there, sorry I should have posted that I got it sorted... it turned out to be a dodgy wire in the wiring loom to that sensor, the mechanic from VW Heritage in Bristol figured it out and he just added a new length of wire to bypass the dodgy section.

Hope you get yours sorted too...

Alex
VW T5 2004 1.9TDI SURFBUS
Back to Top
dvdfrost View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Oct 09
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 98
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dvdfrost Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jan 11 at 23:11
The same code came up on mine.I replaced the sensor ,with a VW one£88+ vat I think .
After I got the old one out I noticed  the multiplug 3 pin connector on front of gearbox /engine joint had a burnt pin.
Worth trying a bypass of this plug first as the access is tricky as mentioned.
The plug is just above the sump to block joint on the front behind Power steering pump .

To get to it pull bonnet lock carrier into service position,remove front engine stabiliser. remove AC pump if fitted,leave hoses on just swing to side,remove PS pump, leave hoses on swing to side.
undo 10mm bolt and pull out plastic sensor.lube new sensor 'O'ring push into place and rebuild.
T4 and T5 vans, they let you do what you want to do.... and be what you want to be!
'05 T5 130
'01 T4 88
'95 T4 888 spesh
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

The WebThis site